Scripps Howard Awards

enter image description here

The Scripps Howard Awards, one of the nation’s most prestigious journalism competitions, accepted entries through Feb. 5. Finalists will be announced Feb. 27 and winners will be announced March 6 via YouTube and Facebook live streams. The Awards’ 65th competition will present $170,000 in prize money for work across 16 categories, including the Impact Award, which will honor the year’s best work from all winners. The awards will be presented on April 19, 2018, with a live show hosted by “60 Minutes” correspondent Lara Logan.

With a focus on high-impact reporting, the awards recognize journalism that spurs action; news organizations that go the extra mile to expose previously undisclosed or misunderstood information; and journalists who embrace new tools, channels, technologies and approaches or creatively use established methods to provide more meaningful experiences for their audiences. Learn more and enter at

Below, view highlights from the 2016 awards program:

Daniel Berehulak accepts the Photojournalism award

This is the second time Daniel Berehulak, of The New York Times, won the photojournalism category. He received $10,000 for his photos that revealed the government-directed killings in the Philippines put into action to address the drug use and drug dealing problem.

Lane DeGregory wins for Human Interest Storytelling

Lane DeGregory from the Tampa Bay Times writes with compassion and insight that she develops over long stretches of time. She spent months getting to know the struggles of a dying man who contemplated taking his own life rather than burden his wife with taking care of him. She also recounted the days leading up to the heartbreaking murder of a 5-year-old at the hands of her own father who dropped her from a bridge.

Paul Scripps talks with Abi Haggerty from the Scripps Howard Foundation

Scripps Howard Foundation brought winners together for a pre-show party and post-show party. The focus was creating opportunities for Scripps and Howard family members and other guests to hear about the investigations and the work that went into each story.

Team from Michigan Radio collects the prize

The winner of the Jack R. Howard Award for Radio coverage is Michigan Radio. Their ongoing coverage of the water crisis in Flint, Michigan, continues to uncover problems with the tainted water and who was at fault.

Will Fitzgibbons poses for a Twitter post

Will Fitzgibbon from The International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, accepted the William Brewster Styles Award for Business and Economics Reporting. ICIJ won along with McClatchy and the Miami Herald, for "The Panama Papers."

Scripps CEO Rich Boehne discusses the importance of journalism

The winners of the 2016 Scripps Howard Awards told stories that were investigative, innovative and had impact. Their work changed laws, improved safety, removed barriers, uncovered crimes, revealed horrors and helped to create a better-informed world.

Donor partners announce winner of $100,000 literacy grant

In partnership with The Greater Cincinnati Foundation, Duke Energy and WCPO - 9 On Your Side, Scripps Howard Foundation awarded literacy grants to three Greater Cincinnati nonprofit organizations. Princeton City School District won the $100,000 grant for its mobile reading program. Dayton Independent School District and The Children's Home of Cincinnati each won $25,000 grants for their literacy programs.