Scripps Howard Foundation  


Programs and Projects
Journalism Fund
Covering Religion Program
Hampton University
Scripps Howard School
of Journalism
and Communications

Jack R. Howard
International Fellowships

Roy W. Howard
National Collegiate
Reporting Competition

Institute on the Environment
Internship Grants
Ohio University
Scripps College
of Communication

E.W. Scripps School
of Journalism

Scripps Howard Awards Videos and Awards Book
Ted Scripps
Environmental Fellowships
SPJ Leadership InstituteScholarships and Lecture
Semester in Washington
Teen Appeal
Teen Media
Community Fund
Literacy Grants
Greater Cincinnati Fund
Nonprofit Internships
Grant Guidelines


Scholarships give a hand up to students who have proven their capabilities in the classroom, on the job and -- often -- in their communities. They are a reward for accomplishments and an investment in potential. The Foundation offers a number of scholarships to promising young communicators, many of which are endowed scholarships provided through endowments set up with specific universities over the years. Others are on-going scholarships provided in cooperation with national organizations or in the names of our donors.

The Foundation does not offer general journalism scholarships.

For information about the scholarship programs, contact Sue Porter, vice president/programs, Scripps Howard Foundation at 1-800-888-3000 ext. 3030 or

Bridgemont Technical College
Jamin Goosman
Steven Ruhl

Cincinnati State Technical and Community College
Scripps Howard Food Network Scholarship
Alyse D. Benton
Dominique Carter

Irene Corbally Kuhn Endowed Scholarship
Overseas Press Club Foundation
Artis Henderson
Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism

Boyd D. Lewis Endowed Scholarship, Ohio University
Connor Kiesel

Donald L. Perris Endowed Scholarship/Internship Fund, Ohio University
Matthew Van Wert Anderson
Patrick Henderson
Lindsey Plocek

Susan J. Porter Endowed Scholarship,
Ohio University
Sandra Combs

Ernie Pyle Endowed Scholarship, The University of Tennessee
Drew Streip

JoAnne Robinson Memorial Scholarship
Jordan Riles
Savannah State University

Lynn Delaney Saunders Endowed Memorial Scholarship

Western Kentucky University

Rebecca Barnett

Robert P. Scripps Graphic Arts Endowed Scholarships

Rochester Institute of Technology

Casey L. Bitzberger
Christine M. Hodgson
Christopher S. Little
Matthew A. Sansone
Brian J. Seplow


Scripps Howard Foundation Communications Endowed Scholarships

Northern Kentucky University

Andrew Brown
Zachary Collins
Keri Eason
Emma Woeste

Scripps Howard Foundation Endowed Scholarships

E.W. Scripps School,
Ohio University
Steve Gartner
Emily Shuki


University of Southern Indiana
Chanse Ford


WEWS/Scripps Howard Scholarship Fund

Cuyahoga Community College

Stephanie Jelanic
Alison McKim
Tete Thompson

Jack Howard-Potter, great-grandson of Roy Howard and Foundation trustee, presents Ms. Edwards with the 2009 Irene Corbally Kuhn Scholarship, named for the legendary Scripps Howard reporter and author.