Judges named for Scripps Howard's National Journalism Awards

Tue, August 26, 1997 by Mary Lou Marusin

CINCINNATI, Ohio - The Scripps Howard Foundation has announced the names of the distinguished media professionals judging its 1996 National Journalism Awards competition.Work published or aired in 1996 is eligible for the Awards, with deadlines for entries occurring in early 1997. There are 14 categories of print and electronic journalism competitions, including an award for college cartoonists. The Scripps Howard Foundation National Journalism Awards are among the most coveted prizes in journalism. Cash awards totaling $41,000 and plaques will be presented at the Scripps Howard Foundation National Journalism Awards Dinner on March 26, 1997 in Cincinnati, Ohio. The corporate office of Scripps Howard and its television station, WCPO/TV and The Cincinnati Post and The Kentucky Post, will serve as hosts of the dinner.Awards, judges and deadlines:Human Interest Writing - Ernie Pyle AwardRick Rodriguez, managing editor, The Sacramento Bee; Kathy Silverberg, executive editor, Times Daily in Florence, Alabama and Dan K. Thomasson, vice president/news, Scripps Howard Newspapers, and editor, Scripps Howard News Service.Entries due no later than Jan. 13, 1997.Editorial Writing - Walker Stone AwardCaroline Brewer, editorial writer, The Record, Hackensack, New Jersey; Will Corbin, editor, Daily Press, Newport News, Virginia; and Alan M. Horton, senior vice president/publishing division, Scripps Howard.Entries due no later than Jan. 20, 1997.Environmental Journalism - Edward J. Meeman Awards(Two categories- circulation over and under 100,000)Harry Moskos, editor, The Knoxville News-Sentinel; Caesar Andrews, executive editor, The Rockland Journal-News, West Nyack, NY; and one judge to be named.Entries due no later than Jan. 27, 1997.Public Service - Roy W. Howard Awards(Two categories- circulation over and under 100,000)Doug Clifton, vice president/executive editor, The Miami Herald; Vince Vawter, editor and president, The Evansville (Ind.) Courier; and Louise Seals, managing editor, Richmond (Va.) Times-Dispatch.Entries due no later than Feb. 3, 1997. Literacy- Charles E. Scripps Awards(Two categories - daily newspapers and television/radio/cable stations)Paul Knue, editor, The Cincinnati Post/The Kentucky Post; Buck Ryan, director, The School of Journalism & Telecommunication, University of Kentucky; and Lisa Cooney, news anchor, WLWT-TV, Cincinnati, Ohio.Entries due no later than Feb. 6, 1997.Service to the First Amendment - E. W. Scripps AwardLouis D. Boccardi, president and CEO, The Associated Press; Sandra Mims Rowe, editor, The Oregonian, Portland, Oreg.; and Loren Ghiglione, the James M. Cox Jr. Professor of Journalism at Emory University, Atlanta, Ga.Entries due no later than Feb. 10, 1997.Television/Radio/Cable Journalism Awards - Jack R. Howard Awards(Four categories)Mike Cavender, news director, WTSP-TV, Tampa/St. Petersburg and chairman, Radio/Television News Directors Association; Dr. James C. King, general manager, WVXU-FM, Cincinnati, Ohio; and one judge to be named.Entries due no later than Jan. 31, 1997.College Cartoonist - The Charles M. Schulz AwardCharles M. Schulz, creator of the classic comic strip, Peanuts; Lucy Caswell, associate professor & curator, Cartoon, Graphic & Photographic Arts Research Library, The Ohio State University; and Al Roker, weather and feature reporter, NBC’s The Today Show.Entries due no later than Jan. 13, 1997.Entry blanks may be obtained by writing to Scripps Howard Foundation, P. O. Box 5380, Cincinnati, OH 45201; call 800-888-3000, or FAX (513) 977-3800.Dedicated to excellence in journalism, the Scripps Howard Foundation is a leader in industry efforts in journalism education, scholarships, literacy, minority recruitment/development, and First Amendment causes.