Scripps newsrooms earn three National Murrow Awards

Thu, June 12, 2014 by Carolyn Micheli

For immediate release
Thu, June 12, 2014

Two local market television stations of The E.W. Scripps Co. (NYSE: SSP) – WCPO in Cincinnati and KJRH in Tulsa, Oklahoma – and its national video news network Newsy, have earned 2014 National Edward R. Murrow Awards from the Radio Television Digital News Association.

In the investigative reporting category for large market television, WCPO, an ABC affiliate, won a National Murrow Award for “9-1-1 Roulette.” Chief Investigator Brendan Keefe and Executive Producer Jennifer Cobb exposed alarming evidence that many of the city’s 9-1-1 operators had no medical training and in some instances delayed or even hung up on callers after emergency responders were dispatched. The stories helped change policies, led to more medically trained operators, and improved the safety of citizens in Cincinnati.

KJRH, an NBC affiliate, won in the website category for small market TV (DMA #51-up). The focus of its entry was the coverage of the Moore, Oklahoma, tornado in May 2013. The deadly tornado was on the ground for 40 minutes and traveled 17 miles. It killed two dozen people and left hundreds more injured. KJRH’s team of journalists worked with digital designers to create an interactive site complete with videos, photo galleries, tornado timeline, storm radar, and enterprising stories from storm victims and first responders.

For online news organizations, in the news documentary video category, the association honored Newsy, the national video news network based in Columbia, Missouri. “Guns and the Heartland” was Newsy’s first foray into news documentary storytelling. The project focused on the Midwest and, in particular, Missouri, where gun cultures clash and existing laws have had tragic effects on the state's urban counties.

“Scripps is thrilled and honored to receive three National Murrow Awards,” said Brian Lawlor, senior vice president of Scripps television. “The awards recognize the significant accomplishments of our journalists that showcase the strengths of Scripps in investigative reporting, multi-platform storytelling and commitment to the communities we serve.”

Since 1971, RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards. Winners receive an Edward R. Murrow Award trophy at the RTDNA awards dinner and show in New York City on Oct. 6. Awards are presented to news organizations, not individuals.

  Download PDF Version