Foundation names National Journalism Award judges

Fri, February 12, 1999 by Patty Cottingham

CINCINNATI, Ohio - The Scripps Howard Foundation has announced the names of 32 distinguished media professionals who will be judging its National Journalism Awards.The Foundation will recognize the best work of 1998 in newspaper and broadcast journalism; distinguished service to literacy and First Amendment causes; and college cartoonist categories A new award for business and economics reporting has been added to this year’s competition in honor of William Brewster Styles, long-time business editor for The Cincinnati Post. Cash awards totaling more than $45,000 will be presented April 8 during a banquet at the Westin Hotel in downtown Cincinnati.Competition rules and a listing of categories are available on the Scripps Howard Foundation’s web site at Following are the judges for this year’s competition:Andrew Alexander, Washington bureau chief, Cox Newspapers; Louis D. Boccardi, president and CEO, The Associated Press, New York; Lucy Caswell, director, Cartoon Research Library, The Ohio State University, Columbus; and Randy Cochran, director of newspaper operations, The E.W. Scripps Company, Cincinnati.Brian Cooper, executive editor, Telegraph Herald, Dubuque, Iowa; Susan C. Deans, editor, The Sun News, Myrtle Beach, S.C.; Frank Denton, editor, Wisconsin State Journal, Madison, Wis.; and Karen Baker, senior editor, The News Tribune, Tacoma, Wash.Rich Boehne, vice president of corporate communications and investor relations, Scripps, Cincinnati; Judy Pace Christie, executive editor, Florida Today, Melbourne, Fla.; and Colleen Conant, executive editor and publisher, Daily Camera, Boulder, Colo.Peter Copeland, editor and general manager, Scripps Howard News Service, Washington D.C.; James Denley, editor, Abilene (Texas) Reporter-News; and Michael R. Fancher, senior vice president/executive editor, The Seattle Times.Clyde Gray, news anchor, WCPO-TV, Cincinnati; Pamela Howard, vice president, Scripps Howard Foundation, Oyster Bay, N.Y.; Jane E. Kirtley, executive director, Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press, Arlington, Va.; and Gregory L. Moore, managing editor, The Boston Globe.Eric Ober, president and general manager, Food Network, New York; Mike Phillips, publisher, The Bremerton (Wash.) Sun; Larry L. Rose, executive vice president and editor, Corpus Christi (Texas) Caller-Times; and Karla Garrett Harshaw, editor, Springfield (Ohio) News-Sun.Mike Jacobs, editor and vice president, Grand Forks (N.D.) Herald; William G. Moll, president and general manager, WKRC-TV, Cincinnati; Larry Nighswander, director, School of Visual Communication, Ohio University, Athens; Susan Patterson, editor and publisher, The Union-Recorder, Milledgeville, Ga.; and Al Roker, weather and feature reporter, The Today Show, NBC News, New York.Charles M. Schulz, creator of PEANUTS, Santa Rosa, Calif.; Paul K. Scripps, vice president/newspapers, Scripps, San Diego; Dan K. Thomasson, Scripps Howard News Service, Washington D.C.; Frank Sutherland, vice president/news and editor, The Tennessean, Nashville, Tenn.; and David Zeeck, executive editor, The News Tribune, Tacoma, Wash.Dedicated to excellence in journalism, the Scripps Howard Foundation is a leader in industry efforts in journalism education, scholarships, internships, literacy, minority recruitment/development and First Amendment causes.