Foundation names winners of 'Most Valuable Staffer' broadcast competition

Fri, September 01, 2000 by Vickie Martin

CINCINNATI –The Scripps Howard Foundation has named the five winners of its first “Most Valuable Staffer” broadcast competition, which was open to students who work at U.S. college broadcast stations.The winners, all seniors, were selected from 29 nominees. The winners are: Jason Bruce, executive vice president and production manager of Cable 8 television at Washington State University, Pullman, Wash. Sarah M. Drake, sales director, WZND radio at Illinois State University, Normal, Ill. Erik Gudmundson, station manager, WIXQ radio at Millersville University, Millersville, Pa. Lynn Fink, station manager, ECTV40 television at Elizabethtown College, Elizabethtown, Pa. Katie Tevis, producer, WASB television’s Newswatch at Asbury College, Wilmore, Ky. The five winners each will receive a $5,000 scholarship. Winners also will receive an all expenses paid trip to Washington, D.C., for an awards presentation Nov. 8-12 during the national College Media Advisers convention, co-sponsored by the Associated Collegiate Press and College Media Advisers. The broadcast stations where the students work will each receive a matching $5,000 grant.The competition was sponsored by the Scripps Howard Foundation in cooperation with College Media Advisers.“Scripps Howard Foundation is proud to recognize the accomplishments of these fine college broadcast staffers,” said Judith G. Clabes, president and CEO of the foundation. “Each exemplifies the dedication and talent needed to meet the unique challenges of working at campus radio and television stations.”Chris Carroll, president of College Media Advisers and director of student media at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, said, “This competition has provided a great opportunity for these deserving college students who might not otherwise have been so well rewarded for their hard work. Their college broadcast stations also are happy beneficiaries thanks to the unprecedented matching grants.”The competition was open to any member of student-operated college radio or television stations licensed for broadcast by the Federal Communications Commission or available campus- or community-wide via a closed circuit system. Nominees had to be enrolled as full-time students in the college or university. They were not required to be journalism or communications majors. Winners were required to be enrolled in an undergraduate program in the fall of 2000, when the award will be made.The competition was judged by Gary Hawke, University of Kansas; Drew Berry, vice president and general manager, WMAR-TV, Baltimore; and Clyde Gray, news anchor, WCPO-TV, Cincinnati. College Media Advisers, with more than 700 members, coast to coast, represents the people who advise the nation’s collegiate newspapers, yearbooks, magazines and electronic media.Dedicated to excellence in journalism, the Scripps Howard Foundation is a leader in industry efforts in journalism education, scholarships, internships, literacy, minority recruitment/development and First Amendment causes.