Scripps Howard Foundation names judges for annual National Journalism Awards

Mon, February 12, 2001 by Patty Cottingham

CINCINNATI – The Scripps Howard Foundation has announced the names of 27 journalists and media professionals who will judge the National Journalism Awards.The Foundation will recognize the best work of 2000 in newspaper, broadcast and Web journalism, distinguished service to literacy and First Amendment causes; and college cartoonist categories. “We’ve assembled some of the most respected names in American journalism to judge the hundreds of excellent entries we’ve received,” said Judith G. Clabes, president and CEO of the Scripps Howard Foundation. “The quality of the judges is one of the reasons the National Journalism Awards are so widely respected and coveted.”The deadline for entries was Jan. 31. Cash awards totaling $50,000 will be presented Friday, April 6 during a banquet at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C.Competition rules and a listing of categories are available on the Scripps Howard Foundation’s Web site at are the judges for this year’s awards:Roberta Baskin, senior producer, consumer investigations, ABC News, 20/20; Robert J. Benz, director, online content development, The E. W. Scripps Company; Terri Burke, editor, Abilene (Texas) Reporter-News; Lucy Caswell, professor and curator, Cartoon Research Library, The Ohio State University; Colleen Conant, editor and publisher, Daily Camera, Boulder, Colo.; Peter Copeland, editor and general manager, Scripps Howard News Service; and Kevin Cosgrove, editor in chief,, Portland, Ore.Timothy Gallagher, president and editor, Ventura County (Calif.) Star; Tom Goldstein, dean, Graduate School of Journalism, Columbia University, New York, N.Y.; John Haile, founder of Inside Out Media Partners, Orlando, Fla.; John Maxwell Hamilton, dean and Hopkins P. Braezeale Professor, Manship School of Mass Communication, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge; Paul Knue, editor, The Cincinnati Post/The Kentucky Post; and John F. Lansing, vice president/broadcast station operations, The E.W. Scripps Company.Pam Luecke, editor and vice president, Lexington (Ky.) Herald-Leader; Mike Marshall, editor/vice president-news, Mobile (Ala.) Register; Patrick McDonnell, MUTTS cartoonist, 1999 National Cartoonist Society Reuben Award Winner; T. Wayne Mitchell, senior vice president and editor, Anderson (S.C.) Independent-Mail; Christopher Peck, editor, The Spokesman-Review, Spokane, Wash.; George Rodrigue, executive editor, The Press-Enterprise, Riverside, Calif.; and Al Roker, weather and feature reporter, NBC News, “The Today Show.”Dennis Ryerson, vice president and editor, The Des Moines (Iowa) Register; Kathy Silverberg, executive editor, TimesDaily, Florence, Ala.; Paul K. Scripps, vice president/newspapers, The E. W. Scripps Company; Dan K. Thomasson, retired vice president/news, columnist, Scripps Howard News Service; Al Tompkins, group leader/broadcast and online, The Poynter Institute, St. Petersburg, Fla.; Vince Vawter, president and publisher, Evansville (Ind.) Courier & Press; and James Willse, editor, The Star-Ledger, Newark, N.J. Dedicated to excellence in journalism, the Scripps Howard Foundation is a leader in industry efforts in journalism education, scholarships, internships, literacy, minority recruitment/development and First Amendment causes.