Scripps Howard Foundation names winners of 'Most Valuable Staffer' competition

Thu, February 01, 2001 by Vickie Martin

CINCINNATI –The Scripps Howard Foundation has named the five winners of its annual “Most Valuable Staffer” competition, which was open to U.S. college newspaper staff members.The winners are: Megan Manfull, managing editor, The Daily Iowan, a senior at University of Iowa, Iowa City. Sheila B. Lalwani, world desk editor, Indiana Daily Student, a senior at Indiana University, Bloomington. Angela Cason, editor, The Tech Talk, a senior at Louisiana Tech University, Ruston. Jennie Kennedy, managing editor, The Daily Texan, a senior at University of Texas-Austin. Randy Striegel, managing editor, The Orion, a senior at California State University, Chico.Each of the winners will receive a $5,000 scholarship and an all-expenses paid trip to New York for the National College Media Convention, co-sponsored by the Associated Collegiate Press and College Media Advisers, Feb. 15-18. The college newspapers where the students work also will receive a $5,000 grant.The competition is sponsored by the Scripps Howard Foundation in cooperation with College Media Advisers. “Scripps Howard Foundation established this competition to reward college newspaper staffers who have distinguished themselves through their hard work and extraordinary efforts,” said Judith G. Clabes, president and CEO of the foundation. “These five individuals have won the respect and high praise of their colleagues and college advisers and have earned recognition as ‘Most Valuable Staffers.’”Chris Carroll, president of College Media Advisers and media adviser at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, said, “The annual ‘Most Valuable Staffer’ award provides an excellent opportunity to recognize the achievements of some of the country’s most promising journalism students. As always, this year’s recipients are among the best of the best.”The competition was open to staffers of any college newspaper in the U.S. that publishes at least weekly during the regular school year. Nominees had to be enrolled as full-time students in the college or university. They were not required to be journalism or communications majors, and could work in any department of the newspaper. The competition was judged by Fran Kentling, administrative editor of The Wichita Eagle; Jack Willis, student awards committee chairman for College Media Advisers; and Dan K. Thomasson, retired vice president/news for Scripps Howard newspapers and retired editor of Scripps Howard News Service.College Media Advisers, with more than 700 members coast to coast, represents the people who advise the nation’s collegiate newspapers, yearbooks, magazines and electronic media.Dedicated to excellence in journalism, the Scripps Howard Foundation is a leader in industry efforts in journalism education, scholarships, internships, literacy, minority recruitment/development and First Amendment causes.