Tysoe joins Scripps board of directors

Tue, August 26, 1997 by Tim King

CINCINNATI, Ohio – The shareholders of The E.W. Scripps Company today elected to its board of directors Ronald W. Tysoe, vice chairman and chief financial officer of Federated Department Stores, Inc.Tysoe, 43, replaces David R. Huhn, the retired president of McAlpin’s, who chose not to seek re-election. Huhn had served on the board since 1991. Two other independent directors, Daniel J. Meyer and Nicholas B. Paumgarten, who have served since 1988, were re-elected to one-year terms. Meyer is the chairman and chief executive officer of Cincinnati Milacron, Inc., and Paumgarten is a managing director of J.P. Morgan and Co. Incorporated.Re-elected to the Scripps board today were Lawrence A. Leser, a director since 1977, and William R. Burleigh, a director since 1990.When the board meets May 23 it is expected to name Burleigh the new chief executive officer of Scripps. He has been president and chief operating officer since August 1994.Burleigh will succeed Leser, who is stepping down from the position of CEO after 11 years. Leser will remain chairman of the board.Also re-elected today were Charles E. Scripps, who served as board chairman from 1953-94; Paul K. Scripps, chairman of the board of John P. Scripps Newspapers, a wholly owned subsidiary of the Company; Robert P. Scripps, vice chairman of The Edward W. Scripps Trust; and John H. Burlingame, executive partner of Baker & Hostetler, the Company’s legal counsel.