WEWS NewsChannel 5 Earns Prestigious Awards

Wed, September 17, 2008 by Dan Coyle

At the 39th annual Emmy Awards on Saturday night, the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (Lower Great Lakes chapter) awarded WEWS NewsChannel 5 five Emmys.  And on Sunday night, the Broadcasters’ Hall of Fame inducted NewsChannel 5’s Deb Lee, who’s been working at NewsChannel 5 since 1989.  Lee has won numerous awards during her reporting career, including an Emmy Award and a National Headliner Award.


Three of NewsChannel 5’s 2008 Emmys were awarded to the NewsChannel 5 Investigators, the largest investigative team among Cleveland television stations.  “Investigative reporting is a critical part of who we are at NewsChannel 5 and what we provide for our viewers,” comments Jill Manuel, the station’s news director.  “We’re proud that not just one, but all three of our investigative team members were recognized.  It’s a testament to their hard work and the work of their producers, photographers, and editors,” Manuel continues.  “It’s also wonderful to have Deb Lee in the Hall of Fame.  This is just the newest honor for her in her career at NewsChannel 5.”


The complete list of NewsChannel 5’s Emmy honors is as follows:

  • Continuing Coverage – “Caught in a Flash”
    • Chief Investigator Duane Pohlman
    • David H. Arnold Jr., Photographer
    • Dave Hatala, Photographer
    • Matthew Spurrier, Editor

  • Societal Concerns – “Cashing in on Kindness”
    • Investigator Ron Regan
    • Dorian Thompson, Senior Investigative Producer
    • David H. Arnold Jr., Photographer
    • Matthew Spurrier, Editor
  • Community Service – “NewsChannel 5 Troubleshooter”
    • Troubleshooter Joe Pagonakis
    • Melissa Watson, Producer
    • Ted Kortan, Photojournalist
    • Dennis Cassidy, Editor
  • Children/Youth Program – “Academic Challenge”
    • Phyllis Sossi, Producer
    • Steve Kurrent, Producer
    • Jason Nicholas, Host
  • Crafts: Director - Live to Tape – “Academic Challenge”
    • Steve Kurrent, Director