Scripps-Corbett Awards winners unveiled

Thu, April 23, 2009 by Tim King

The winners of the 2009 Scripps-Corbett Awards, the most-prestigious recognition of individuals and organizations that have made artistic or cultural contributions to the Greater Cincinnati area, have been announced by The E.W. Scripps Company.

Six awards will be bestowed this year, including a lifetime achievement honor.

This year's winners:

  • Artist Award: Cincinnati Chamber Orchestra
  • Organization Award: Madcap Puppet Theatre
  • Innovation Award: Cincinnati Art Museum Bus for Kids
  • Special Award - Arts Education: Artists Reaching Classrooms at the Taft Museum of Art
  • Supporter Award: Carruthers Family
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Dick Waller

The awards will be presented at the finale celebration for this year's Fine Arts Fund campaign. The public is invited to join in this gala, which will be held at the Carnegie Visual and Performing Arts Center on Thursday, April 30 at 5:30 p.m. Interested arts enthusiasts should contact the Fine Arts Fund (513-871-2787) if they would like to attend.

"We all prosper from their unique contributions made by the recipients of this year's Scripps-Corbett Awards," said Rich Boehne, president and chief executive officer of Scripps. "Their talent and commitment have immeasurably enhanced Greater Cincinnati's cultural fabric, and it is an honor for us to celebrate their accomplishments."

The Scripps-Corbett Awards are presented by WCPO-TV and named in honor of the late arts patrons Patricia and J. Ralph Corbett, who worked with two Scripps newspapers - The Cincinnati Post and The Kentucky Post - in launching the awards program in 1975. 

The judges for the 2009 awards were Van Ackerman (Cincinnati Arts Association), Jeaunita Ifewande Olowe (Bi-Okoto Drum & Dance Theatre and School of African Cultures), Mark Serrianne (Retired CEO of Northlich), John Vissman (Institute for Non-Profit Capacity /Scripps Howard Center for Engagement), and Kathy Wade (Learning Through Art, Inc.).

About Scripps

The E.W. Scripps Company (NYSE: SSP) is a diverse, 130-year-old media enterprise with interests in television stations, newspapers, local news and information Web sites, and licensing and syndication. The company's portfolio of locally focused media properties includes: 10 TV stations (six ABC affiliates, three NBC affiliates and one independent); daily and community newspapers in 14 markets and the Washington, D.C.-based Scripps Media Center, home of the Scripps Howard News Service; and United Media, the licensor and syndicator of Peanuts, Dilbert and approximately 150 other features and comics.

  Download PDF Version